So long Singapore

Well my flight is delayed yet again, but at least I’ve had a business class upgrade to make it a bit more bearable! My last few days in Singapore have been super busy with lots of sightseeing.

On Friday I visited the Cloud Forest at the Gardens by the Bay and had a browse around the large shopping centre, managing to pick up a few freebies along the way. Friday night was also Chinese New Year’s Eve and I meet up with members of my tour group in the evening to join in the celebrations first in Chinatown and then in Marina Bay.

In the Cloud Forest

Against a wall of leaves

Welcoming in the year of the Rooster

Fireworks at midnight!

On Saturday I headed down to Clarke Quay to soak in the atmosphere and grab a spot of lunch. While Clark Quay was quiet, it was a nice area to wonder around and I imagine it comes alive in the evening! On Saturday evening I headed to the world famous night safari at Singapore Zoo, where I saw various animals including lions, tigers, elephants and hyenas. The night safari was unlike any other zoo experience I’ve had before and something I’d definitely recommend should you find yourself in Singapore.

Mexican on the waterfront

Zebras at the night safari
Elephants at the night safari

Night Safari selfie!

On my final day in Singapore I headed down to the Botanic Gardens and the National Orchid Garden for a wander round before gathering my things and heading to the airport.

Barack Obama Orchid in the National Orchid Garden

More orchids

Orchid selfie!

Singapore airport is something else. After arriving and checking in my bag I was rather too excited to discover I’d been upgraded to business class! I took a dip in the airport pool and although my flight was delayed the upgrade definitely softened the blow.

Too excited by the thought of a free upgrade!

Just chilling in business class

106,000 steps later, it’s safe to say Singapore you’ve been a blast!

Leave a Reply

