City loving Brisbane style 

An early start and a slightly hungover Sophie boarded the Greyhound to Brisbane bright and early in the morning! On arriving into Brisbane I was greeted by Rhiannon, a Southeast Asia travel buddy for a catch up! After dumping my bags in the hostel we wandered down to the Southbank, where there are free pools for swimming amongst other things. At one point we were mistaken for students at the university of technology – probably not best to tell them we were English students! Later on in the afternoon, I meet up once again with Rebecca and we took the free ferry along the city, before hanging out once more in Southbank.

Brisbane sign
Views over the river

Day two in Brisbane, and I meet up with Elspeth, an old school friend from the STAGS days for brunch, as she is living in Brisbane currently. That afternoon, I headed up to the Mount Coot-tha for outstanding views of the city.

Catching up with Elspeth after all these years!
Made it to the top of Mount Coot-tha
View over Brisbane from the lookout
Striking a pose once again!

My final morning in Brisbane, was spent at the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary, where I managed to get my photo taken with and cuddle a Koala as well as selfie with many wallabies and emus. The sanctuary provided a great opportunity to get up close with many native Australian animals.

My new furry friend
Wallaby selfie
Emu friend
Koala!
I think she liked me

That afternoon, I caught the train out of Brisbane to Mooloolabah to spend some relaxing time a family friend in their home.

Views for days

Leave a Reply

